Real Life Disability Resources

UNITED STATES

Social Security Disability – Common Disabilities  http://www.socialsecurityhome.com/commondisabilities.htm
A list of common disorders and diseases the Social Security Administration (SSA) deals with.

American Cancer Society (ACS) 1-800-227-2345 http://www.cancer.org/

American Chronic Pain Association (ACPA) http://www.theacpa.org/

American Diabetes Association (ADA) http://www.diabetes.org

American Headache Society (AHS) http://www.achenet.org/

American Heart Association (AHA) http://www.americanheart.org/

American Lung Association http://www.lungusa.org/site/pp.asp?c=dvLUK9O0E&b=22542

The Anderson Network 1-800-345-6324 The Anderson Network will connect you with an Anderson Network member with the same cancer diagnosis and treatment. Sharing the experience by phone with someone who has walked the same journey helps you know you are not alone.

Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA) http://www.aafa.org/

Brain Injury Association of America (BIAA) http://www.biausa.org/aboutus.htm

Cancer Care, Inc. 1-800-813-4673 http://www.cancercare.org/

Cancer Hope Network 1-877-467-3638 http://www.cancerhopenetwork.org/

Epilepsy Foundation http://www.epilepsyfoundation.org/aboutus/

Leukemia & Lymphoma Society 1-800-955-4572 http://www.leukemia-lymphoma.org/

Lighthouse International http://www.lighthouse.org/

Mental Health America (MHA) http://www.nmha.org/

Muscular Dystrophy Association (MDA) http://www.mda.org/

National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) http://www.nami.org/template.cfm?section=About_NAMI

National Association for Visually Handicapped (NAVH) http://www.navh.org/faq.html

National Association of People with AIDS (NAPWA) http://www.napwa.org/about.html

National Association of the Deaf (NAD) http://www.nad.org/site/pp.asp?c=foINKQMBF&b=91587

National Cancer Institute 1-800-4-CANCER( 1-800-422-6237 ) http://www.cancernet.nci.nih.gov/

National Headache Foundation (NHF) http://www.headaches.org/

National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute (NHLBI) http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/dci/index.html

National Hypertension Association http://www.nathypertension.org/site/main.html

National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) http://www.drugabuse.gov/

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) http://www.niaaa.nih.gov/

National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS)  http://www.niams.nih.gov/

National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) http://www.nimh.nih.gov/

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) http://www.ninds.nih.gov/

National MS Society http://www.nationalmssociety.org/site/PageServer?pagename=hom_gen_homepage

National Spinal Cord Injury Association (NSCIA) http://www.spinalcord.org/

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) http://www.samhsa.gov/

United Cerebral Palsy (UCP) http://www.ucp.org/

CANADA

Collection of Canadian Disability Sites http://www.esmerel.org/canada/canada2.htm
A link list of provincial and national organizations.

Asperger Syndrome: Local Support Groups: Canada http://www.udel.edu/bkirby/asperger/suppCAN.html
A link list of meetings by province

The Asthma Society of Canada http://www.asthma.ca/

Autism Canada Foundation http://www.autismcanada.org/home.htm

Autism Society Canada – Société canadienne de l’autisme http://www.autismsocietycanada.ca/

Autism Treatment Services of Canada http://www.autism.ca/

Canadian and American Spinal Research Organization http://www.csro.com/

Canadian Diabetes Association http://www.diabetes.ca/

Canadian Neuropathy Association http://www.canadianneuropathyassociation.org/

Canadian Paraplegic Association http://www.canparaplegic.org/en/

Cerebral Palsy Organizations  http://dmoz.org/Health/Conditions_and_Diseases/Neurological_Disorders/Cerebral_Palsy/Organizations/Canada/
A link list of related organizations across the country

Depression Canada http://www.depressioncanada.com/

Mood Disorders Society of Canada http://www.mooddisorderscanada.ca/depression/index.htm

Multiple Sclerosis Society of Canada http://www.mssociety.ca/en/default.htm

UNITED KINGDOM

Allergy UK http://www.allergyuk.org/

Asthma UK http://www.asthma.org.uk/

Depression Alliance http://www.depressionalliance.org/

Depression Learning Path http://www.clinical-depression.co.uk/

Diabetes UK http://www.diabetes.org.uk/

Disabled People http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/DisabledPeople/index.htm?cids=Google_PPC&cre=Disability
A project of Direct.Gov, this site contains information on support for employment, housing, vacationing, transportation, health care, and many more useful topics.

GP Notebook http://www.gpnotebook.co.uk/
A medical encyclopedia used by doctors

International Spinal Research Trusthttp://www.spinal-research.org/

The National Autistic Society http://www.nas.org.uk/

Neuropathy Trust http://www.neurocentre.com/

Patient UK http://www.patient.co.uk/
Up-to-date health information on many topics as provided by GPs

Scope http://www.scope.org.uk/
A UK disability organisation focused on people with cerebral palsy (CP).

UK Council on Deafness http://www.deafcouncil.org.uk/

UK Multiple Sclerosis Society http://www.mssociety.org.uk/

AUSTRALIA

AIDS Trust of Australia – http://www.aidstrust.com.au/

Alcoholics Anonymous – Australia – http://www.alcoholicsanonymous.org.au/

Arthritis Australia – http://www.arthritisaustralia.com.au/

Asthma Foundations Australia – http://www.asthmaaustralia.org.au/

Australian Drug Foundation – http://www.adf.org.au/

Australian Hearing: Australia’s Hearing Specialists – http://www.hearing.com.au/

Australian Learning Disability Association – http://services.admin.utas.edu.au/alda/

Autism Spectrum Australia – (Aspect)http://www.aspect.org.au/

The Australian Lung Foundation – http://www.lungnet.com.au/

Brain Australia: an initiative of the Brain Foundation – http://www.brainaustralia.org.au/

beyondblue: the national depression initiative – http://www.beyondblue.org.au/

The Cancer Council Australia – http://www.cancer.org.au/

CP Australia – http://www.cpaustralia.com.au/

Depressionet – http://www.depressionet.com.au/

Diabetes Australia – http://www.diabetesaustralia.com.au/

Epilepsy Action (Australia) – http://www.epilepsy.org.au/

Haemophilia Foundation Australia – http://www.haemophilia.org.au/

Headache Australia: an initiative of the Brain Foundation – http://www.headacheaustralia.org.au/

Heart Foundation – http://www.heartfoundation.com.au/

Leukaemia Foundation – http://www.leukaemia.org.au/

Mental Health Council of Australia – http://www.mhca.org.au/

Mental Illness Fellowship of Australia (formerly Schizophrenia Fellowships Council of Australia) – http://www.schizophrenia.org.au/

Multiple Sclerosis Australia – http://www.msaustralia.org.au/

Muscular Dystrophy Association/Australia – http://www.mda.org.au/

NAPWA: National Association of People Living With HIV/AIDS, Australia – http://www.napwa.org.au/

Scoliosis Association of Australia – http://www.scoliosis.org.au/

Spinal Cord Injuries Australia – http://www.scia.org.au/

Vision Australia: blindness and low vision services – http://www.visionaustralia.org.au/